- Advertisement -
Home FINANCE Mumbai Local: The names of these 7 Mumbai local stations will be...

Mumbai Local: The names of these 7 Mumbai local stations will be changed, check details here


Mumbai Local Station New Name: The Maharashtra Legislative Council on Tuesday unanimously passed a resolution to rename seven stations on Mumbai’s local train network.

The Mahayuti government of Shiv Sena, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) led by Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar will now send the new names to the central government for its approval. The resolution moved by state Parliamentary Affairs Minister Chandrakant Patil was passed unanimously.

Most station names on the Mumbai local train network are in English and are argued to reflect a colonial legacy.

Which station will be renamed as what?

According to the proposal, Curry Road station will be renamed Lalbagh, Sandhurst Road to Dongri, Marine Lines to Mumbadevi and Charni Road to Girgaon. Sandhurst Road will be renamed on the Central Line as well as the Harbour Line. Among other stations, Cotton Green station will be renamed Kalachowki, Dockyard Road to Mazagaon and King Circle to Tirthankar Parshvanath.

Also Read: Weather Forecast : Heavy rain will occur from today, orange and yellow alert issued for these districts

The names of stations have been changed earlier also

Station names have been changed in Mumbai before as well, such as the historic station Victoria Terminus was renamed as Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus and Elphinstone Road was renamed as Prabhadevi.

This question was asked about Aurangabad airport

Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council Ambadas Danve raised a question regarding renaming the airport in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar city. This airport is still called Aurangabad Airport. Deputy Speaker Neelam Gorhe rejected Danve’s demand for discussion, saying that the concerned minister can answer his question later.

The Maharashtra government had earlier also renamed Aurangabad and Osmanabad districts in the Marathwada region as Sambhajinagar and Dharashiv respectively.



Exit mobile version