Bank Holidays in October 2022: There will be 15 days holiday in banks in October, see the complete list here

Bank Holidays Full List: The next month is going to be a favorite for those looking for holidays. Holidays are raining in the next month i.e. October 2022. Many big festivals like Diwali, Dussehra, Chhath Puja, Milad-e-Sharif are falling in this month.

The Central Reserve Bank of India (RBI) issues a list of holidays for public and private banks across the country. According to the RBI list, there will be a total of 15 bank holidays across the country in October 2022. Many of these are festivals, social days and bank holidays.

This month also has 2 October, which is a national holiday, but since this time 2 October is falling on a Sunday, the holiday will not be counted on this day. Apart from this, there are also big holidays like Dussehra, Diwali in this month.

Here we are giving you the complete list of Bank Holiday. But keep in mind that these holidays depend on which festival or where the social day is celebrated. A festival may be celebrated in some states, but the same festival may not have any cultural significance in another state.

Bank Holidays in October, 2022 Full List:

date why banks will remain closed
October 1, 2022 Half-Yearly Closing Holiday of Accounts in Banks
October 3, 2022 Durga Puja (Maha Ashtami)
October 4, 2022 Durga Puja (Maha Navami) / Ayudha Puja / Shrimant Sankardev Janmotsav
October 5, 2022 Dussehra (Victory Dashami)/Shrimant Sankardev Birthday
October 6, 2022 Durga Puja (Dasin)
October 7, 2022 Durga Puja (Dasin)
October 8, 2022 Milad-e-Sharif/Eid-e-Milad-ul-Nabi (Birthday of Prophet Muhammad)
October 13, 2022 karva chauth
October 14, 2022 Juma after Eid-e-Milad-ul-Nabi
October 18, 2022 Kati Bihu
October 24, 2022 Kali Puja / Deepawali / Diwali (Lakshmi Puja) / Narak Chaturdashi
October 25, 2022 Lakshmi Puja/Deepawali/Govardhan Puja
October 26, 2022 Govardhan Puja/Vikram Samvat New Year Day/Bhai Bij/Bhai Dooj/Diwali (Bali Pratipada)/Lakshmi Puja/Accession Day (J&K)
October 27, 2022 Bhai Dooj/Chitragupta Jayanti/Lakshmi Puja/Deepawali/Ningol Chakkuba
October 31, 2022 Date of Birth of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel / Surya Prashti Dala Chhath (Morning Arghya) / Chhath Puja


Every year RBI releases the list of bank holidays for the government and private banks of the country. It has three categories – ‘Holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act,’ ‘Holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act and Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday,’ and ‘Banks’ Closing of Accounts’.